top of page

My Garden Of Eden


For some people, it is hard to believe that fall is a time for growing good food and wonderful things. As a gardener, it is one of the best time of year to plant a delicious winter crop.

Brassica vegetables like broccoli, cabbage, collards, kale can all grow beautifully in the cold weather as well as lettuce, carrots, beets and more.

In the fall and spring, the weather is perfect for staying out all day and playing in the dirt.

As a child I remember, going out into the small garden my mother had every year, to fetch peppers or greens or something.

She learned how to grow her own food from her father. Granddad, had 10 children and farming was his way of making sure they all were fed. None went without and all were healthy.

Though I never watched my mom put a seed in the grown or spent time with her cultivating the soil, I did see just how much she could grow from the garden she had in my sisters back yard.

It was a 20' x 80' lot that held all the vegetables one could eat in a season. She planted this for my sister, her husband and their 5 children. Until one day after planting a new garden, mom went on vacation and asked my sister to make sure the weeds would not take over the garden. When she came back, she was surprised to see the ground was mostly bare. She asked my sister what happened to the vegetables. My sister promptly replied, "all I did was pull up the weeds like you asked me too".

Not knowing the difference between weeds and vegetables, my sister inadvertently pulled up most of the vegetables.

From that point on, my mom rented a lot far away from my sister, to produce the food we all enjoyed.

Three generations of gardeners. It is in our blood. Well, most of us anyway. Though, in my sisters defense it is an easy mistake, if you are not used to gardening.

I spend most of my time in my garden, learning, communing with God and His creations. There are wonderful things to be seen in a garden.

Granted there are bugs and critters, but if you put a fence up to prevent the critters from eating your food and understand a lot of the bugs are good bugs that eat the bad bugs, its not so bad.

As an adult I used to jump at every moving thing while outdoors. Even things I thought were moving. Then I remembered as a child, all of this did not bother me as much. As a child I would walk through the woods in our neighborhood in upstate NY, eating wild blackberries and pulling up wild garlic. Innocence allowed me to enjoy nature without a care in the world.

I guess I got desensitized to nature, when I started working long hours indoors, for someone else to give me money, so I can buy food that lacks in nutrients and is full of chemicals.

God created the Garden of Eden. A wonderful majestic place where all is beautiful, healthy and serene. A place you can grow your own nourishment, meditate, work hard on the land and delight in the benefits.

So I have gone back to Eden. Eden is my Garden and I have taken technology with me. This is where I am closer to God, listening to the scripture on my headphones, while looking at His miracles that have emerged from the ground from a tiny little seed.

Growing your own can start simply in a plant pot, if you don't have the yard space.

It is a blessing to be able to make food from a seed.

Making the time and energy to build your own Eden big or small can be very rewarding.

Being self sustainable gives you daily exercise which in turn can give you better health, fresh air and sunshine, more nutritious food, potential income and entertainment. More importantly, you are your own boss.

Live Healthy, Eat Healthy, Stay Healthy.

Have a Blessed Day!!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page