top of page

Vonda's Quick Energy Treat

This is the time of year when everything springs and comes to life full force. The days are longer and warmer, allowing us to stay more active, using up a lot of energy.

A lot of people will partake in walking, running, swimming, going to the gym and all sorts of sports to try and stay healthy and to have fun during the spring and summer months.

In doing so we must fuel our bodies with the proper nutrients to keep it running optimally.

We have to make sure we put premium fuel in these beautiful bodies we were given.

Psalm 139:14 (NIV)

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

In the spirit of trying to stay healthy and energized, I thought I would tell you all about this delicious, healthy, energizing treat.

Sometimes after a good workout I have a desire to eat everything in sight. My energy is depleted and in most cases I still have a lot to do for the rest of the day. Since I don't want to stay in the kitchen all day searching for food, I like to resort to my quick energy treat, which is quick and easy to make and a healthier alternative to a donut or a fried food dish. I hope you will find it to be as delicious and nutritious as I do.

Ingredients:

1 Cup of raw old fashion whole oats

10-16 pitted dates

3 heaping Tablespoons Almond butter or nut butter of choice

1 Tablespoon of coconut oil

1/4 Cup of raisins

1 cube of 60% or higher cocao (dark chocolate) shaved with potato peeler

OR

2 Tablespoons of dark chocolate chips

1 scoop of protein powder : Optional

Pinch of cinnamon

1 teaspoon sea salt

Nuts are optional

Put dates and oats in blender and blend until dates are broken down. Place contents of blender and all other ingredients in bowl and mix well.

Take a small handful of mix and squeeze into a ball shape and place them on a paper plate.

Rolling it in between 2 hands will make a mess as it will just crumble.

You can also place parchment paper in a baking pan of your choice and spread mixture out, slicing it after it is refrigerated.

After making approximately 16 small balls, place them in the refrigerate for about 20 mins before serving. They should be stored in the refrigerator.

If you are like me only 15 of the balls will make it to the refrigerator because I will have already eaten one of them.

SERVING SIZE: 2 balls - remember, less is more :)

CONTAINS 8 servings

Prep time: 10 mins.

With the ingredients being raw it will provide fibrous, nutritious, energy to your body for long while. With no added sugar!

Dates can be found at Winn Dixie by the fruits

60% or higher cocao or dark chocolate chips can be found in the baking section

Protein powder, I prefer, gluten free:

https://www.vitacost.com/biochem-sports-whey-protein-powder-natural-24-6-oz

GNC may have something comparable.

Remember to stay hydrated.

It is recommended we drink eight 8-ounce glasses, which equals about 2 liters, or half a gallon of WATER, DAILY.

Water gives you energy as well.

Happy Energizing!!

Eat Healthy, Live Healthy, Stay Healthy!!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page