top of page

Natural Medicine

Over the years, I have been forced to find alternative medicine to improve my health.

After being under the care of many doctors, I found I was not getting better, just getting managed with more and more prescription medications. One pill would cause a side effect for which I would be prescribed another pill. I was in worse shape than I started, with less money and time, since I had to visit doctors regularly.

Prior to getting sick I would run through downtown Washington, DC after work as exercise. As my health decreased, I couldn't walk from one doorway to the next without a cane or gasping for air.

One day, I sat down and prayed to God for better days, good health and wisdom on how to stay healthy. There had to be a better way.

The Garden of Eden had it all. So, I decided to go back to Eden.

In my studies on what was making me sick and how to reverse it, I found herbs, supplements, exercise, diet, aromatherapy and more.

Herbs were the natural alternative to some prescription medicines that ended up replacing all of my 15 medicines.

Herbs can not only treat some symptoms, they, more importantly help to balance the body, once you know the cause of the symptom. It is not something you will ever find you need to take every single day because once it builds up in your system it has a way of helping the body function on its own. Then gradually, reducing your intake, it will allow your body to continue to work on its own.

Supplements, I believe should be treated the same way. There are times when we may need a little magnesium or N- Acetyl Cysteine added to our diet to help balance electrolytes or cleanse the liver.

Then there are times when we are afflicted with cold or flu and will need to refer to something that will have an immediate affect for quick relief. This is where most people will run to the pharmacy and get the over the counter medication that is laced with alcohol and other chemicals that the body had to filter as poisons.

Herbs can help here as well.

It is January 2018 and it seems as though everyone has come down with an upper respiratory infection or the flu. I hear of many cases from all over the U.S. At the end of December my doctor asked me if I had any of the above and at the time I proudly said no. Then she asked advice on what to use on her hair :)

But then, weeks later, it hit me. I woke up on fire with a bowling ball in my head and every time I coughed the bowling ball tried to kill me by rolling over my brain and some how my throat as well. Everything was starting to ache. Years ago my first instinct would have been to reach for OTC meds. It has been over 10 years since I had a cold/flu like this and now, my medicine cabinet is filled with herbs supplements and essential oils.

As a practicing herbalist, I reached for my arsenal of natural medicine. With the bowling ball still weighing in my head trying to crush my brain every time I coughed, I went for painkiller first:

Devils Claw (Harpagophytum procumbens) pain reliever, anti inflammatory

Goldenseal (Hydrastis canadensis) antibiotic

and Elderberry (Sambucus berries) to ease flu and cold symptoms.

Once the tincture of Devils Claw, Goldenseal and Elderberry tea kicked in I was in better condition to assess my symptoms and determine what I needed to do to get rid of this cold/flu.

What I was feeling, called for the full armor of cold and flu herbs.

Horehound (Marrubium vulgare) for cough relief

Marshmallow root (Althaea officinalis L.)not the little ball of sugar, but the plant based herb that soothes a sore throat

Elderberries (Sambucus berries) cold and flu relief

Mullein flowers (Verbascum) to help fight upper respiratory infection and inflammation

Coltsfoot (Tussilago farfara) for upper respiratory troubles, cough, wheezing, bronchitis, asthma

Olive Leaf (Olea europaea) yes the leaf from an olive tree, for flu and cold plus many other benefits.

All of the above herbs have many more medicinal uses as well as number of nutritional benefits.

Can your over the counter medicine say that?

Two cups later and some Master Tonic Tea , now feeling confident I fed my body Gods Herbal Medicine, I took a 3 hour nap.

The next day the fever and achiness were gone, but I was still coughing my brains out (what was left from the trauma of the bowling ball). I realized I needed something stronger.

At night I got my essential oil diffuser and added the following:

3 drops of Tea Tree oil

5 d Lavender

3 d Eucalyptus

3 d Marjoram

5 d Helichrysum

1d White Thyme

The diffuser on my nightstand sprayed each medicinal oil in the air I was breathing, allowing my sinuses and lungs to get disinfected, decongested, relief from inflammation and start healing.

The next morning my constant nagging cough was gone. What little I did cough was productive.

In all I have taken 3 doses of my dried herbal decoction and 2 nights of my diffuser getting better each day.

My prayer years ago for wisdom and health is still being answered.

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor nor do I claim to have any ability to heal or cure any illness or disease. Before trying any herbs or essential oils you should consult your physician.

God gave us everything we need to survive even in this world today.

Ezekiel 47:12King James Version (KJV)

12 And by the river upon the bank thereof, on this side and on that side, shall grow all trees for meat, whose leaf shall not fade, neither shall the fruit thereof be consumed: it shall bring forth new fruit according to his months, because their waters they issued out of the sanctuary: and the fruit thereof shall be for meat, and the leaf thereof for medicine.

All products and links seen on this blog are not paid advertisements.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page