top of page

'Tis the Season to Get Sickly, My Masters Tonic Will Help You

Master Tonic

My Masters Tonic or commonly known as Master Tonic, is a blend of kitchen herbs that fight off viral and bacterial illnesses. I call it my Masters Tonic, because my Lord and Master created all that is in it, keeping me healthy and nourished.

The holidays can prove to be very stressful on the body, mind and pocketbook. No one wants to get sick and end up at the doctors with a bunch of prescriptions because a cold or bacterial infection got out of hand.

We are suppose to be happy and healthy during these highly sociable times.

The way to stay healthy is to make sure your immune system is strong and thriving. To do this you must have a balanced, healthy diet with plenty of nutrients to feed your body. When stressed the body requires more nutrients to maintain standard functions. So it is even more important to eat healthy and clean.

Yet during the holidays we tend to get stressed, reaching for all that is around us, the candy, junk food and then we don't get enough rest. This is the recipe for colds, flu and infection.

Master Tonic (my Masters Tonic) can help you stay healthy year around with just a few kitchen herbs taken daily or when needed.

Joe and I have been using master tonic for years. This is reason we have not needed over the counter medicine or prescribed antibiotics for over 13 years. Our medicine cabinet doesn't look like the average persons. We have tinctures, essential oils and lots of homemade food remedies.

One remedy I so enjoy is my Masters Tonic.

FRESH ORGANIC Ingredients:

1 onion

1 head of garlic

2 oz. ginger

1 cayenne pepper

1 cup horseradish chopped

4 whole cloves

2 cups of raw vinegar

You can place all of these in the food processor and place juice and all in a large mason jar. Pour raw vinegar (blog to come on how to make your own vinegar) to the top, making sure it is blended well. Place the top on the jar and leave in cabinet for 3 weeks before using. Once ready to use, strain herbs for a delicious juicy tonic. Because it is in vinegar it will last indefinitely.

I usually make a batch of about 5-6 jars at the end of the summer. Over the years the batch has lasted longer because we have not needed as much. Last batch was made 2015 and I still have a jar and a half left.

Cough and Sore Throat remedy:

Place all above ingredients EXCEPT VINEGAR in a jar with honey. Making sure honey thoroughly covers the herbs. Let sit for a week before using. This too will last indefinitely as honey and anything in it will not spoil.

Take 1-2 tablespoons every 3-4 hrs or as needed for cough and sore throat.

These remedies are safe for children.

As a child, I remember my aunt sitting and eating an onion. I asked her why, she said she felt like she was coming down with a cold, so eating an onion helps to ward it off. Til this day I do the same thing. If I can eat a raw onion as if it is a spicy apple, slow but deliberately during the course of the day, without me tearing or feeling like it is too strong, then I know I am sick. On the second or third day if that onion starts tasting strong like an onion should, then I know I am well. It usually takes me two days to eat a small onion.

Joe will eat a piece as well to cancel out the smell when we are together.

It is said that if you leave a cut onion open in a bowl on your countertop, it will absorb bacteria. This probably works.

We use a diffuser with tea tree and clove essential oils. Cleans the air and smells nice.

Onion - Very high in quercetin, acts as an antioxidant, decreases cancer tumor initiation, especially in the stomach with ulcers. Used to treat heart and blood vessel problems (angina),hardening of the arteries (atherosclerosis) anti diabetic anti. For centuries onions have been used to heal infections.

Garlic - Contains a compound called Allicin which has potent medicinal properties. Has been used for centuries to fight colds and flu. Used for heart disease, metabolic syndrome, cancer, high blood pressure, anti viral, anti,fungal, reverse hair loss, improve dementia, treats diabetes.

Ginger - Of the 115 chemical components in ginger, gingerol is the most active. It is the oil resin in the root that is high in anti oxidants and anti inflammatory properties. Medical studies have proven that ginger helps with strokes and heart disease, indigestion and nausea, malabsorption, immune and respiratory function, bacterial and fungal infections, ulcer, gerd, pain, cancer, diabetes, cholesterol and arthritis.

I like to dehydrate my ginger so I have a good supply for teas and cooking during the winter.

Cayenne Pepper - Stimulates circulation, detoxifies, cures diarrhea, helps arthritis pain, lowers cholesterol, alleviates pain caused by shingles, help relieve fibromyalgia pain, headach remedy, increases metabolism. One teaspoon has 44%vitamin A, has vit,c, e, b6, k, potassium, manganese and even protein.

Horseradish - High in vitamin C, antimicrobial, antibacterial, reduces symptoms from respiratory illness, cure for urinary tract infection, anti inflammatory, anti pain.

Clove - Kills fungus and mold, kills parasites, improves circulation, anti inflammatory, benefits toothache, coughs, breath, nausea, vomiting, colds, sinusitis, flatulence, stress, cuts, wounds and more.

Raw Vinegar - Regulates blood sugar, enhances weight loss, fights cholesterol, reduces blood pressure, improves skin health, relieves acid reflux, fights fungus and more.

Gods Pharmacy:

He gave me everything I need. Food is my medicine.

Genesis 9:3 New International Version (NIV)

3 Everything that lives and moves about will be food for you. Just as I gave you the green plants, I now give you everything.

Genesis 1:29 King James Version (KJV)

29 And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb bearing seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in the which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for meat.

Ezekial 47:12 (NIV)

Fruit trees of all kinds will grow on both banks of the river. Their leaves will not wither, nor will their fruit fail. Every month they will bear fruit, because the water from the sanctuary flows to them. Their fruit will serve for food and their leaves for healing.”

I hope you find that my Masters Tonic gives you everything you need in more ways than one.

Happy Holidays!!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page